Queensland Bridge Association - Laws Q & A

Law Questions and Answers
(* updated August 2017)

15. Does the auction continue if an inadmissible double is followed by a call by the next player in rotation?

Show Answer (+/-)

No. Law 36A: If offender's LHO calls before rectification of an inadmissible double or redouble the inadmissible call and all subsequent calls are cancelled. The auction reverts to the player whose turn it was to call and proceeds as though there had been no irregularity. The lead restrictions in Law 26 do not apply.

16. Are the automatic trick adjustment laws applied after an established revoke from dummy? *

Show Answer (+/-)

No. Law 64B3: There is no automatic trick adjustment following an established revoke (but see Law 64C) if: the revoke was made in failing to play a penalty card or any card belonging to dummy.
The Director would give redress for damage if necessary under Law 64C: when, after any established revoke, including those not subject to trick adjustment, the Director deems that the non-offending side is insufficiently compensated by this Law for the damage caused, he shall assign an adjusted score.

17. May a player change his call providing his pencil has not left the paper? *

Show Answer (+/-)

This is not a factor in determining whether a call was unintended as dealt with in Law 25A1: If a player discovers that he has not made the call he intended to make, he may, until his partner makes a call, substitute the call he intended to make for the unintended call. The second (intended) call stands and is subject to the appropriate Law, but the lead restrictions in Law 26 do not apply.
If the player's original intent was to make the call selected or voiced, that call stands. A change of call may be allowed because of a mechanical error or a slip of the tongue, but not because of a loss of concentration regarding the intent of the action.
The director must be satisfied that the player has not had a change of mind.

18. A defender revokes at Trick 10 and it becomes established. As his partner won the trick anyway and as no later tricks were won by the side, do you impose a one trick automatic adjustment? *

Show Answer (+/-)

Yes. Law 64A2: When a revoke is established and the trick on which the revoke occurred was not won by the offending player then, if the offending side won that or any subsequent trick, after play ends one trick is transferred to the non-offending side.

19. Are players required to count their cards before returning them to the board?

Show Answer (+/-)

No, not really. Counting will reveal too many or too few cards however having 13 cards is no help if some belong to another player. Law 7C: After play has finished, each player should shuffle his original thirteen cards, after which he restores them to the pocket corresponding to his compass position.

20. May a player deliberately revoke a second time in order to conceal the first revoke?

Show Answer (+/-)

No. Law 72B3: A player may not attempt to conceal an infraction, as by committing a second revoke, concealing a card involved in a revoke or mixing the cards prematurely.

21. South is declarer in 4S. East faces the D8 as the opening lead and South begins to spread his hand as the dummy with some cards visible to all. What happens now?

Show Answer (+/-)

South must continue to spread his hand and becomes dummy. Law 54A: After a faced opening lead out of turn, declarer may spread his hand; he becomes dummy. If declarer begins to spread his hand, and in doing so exposes one or more cards, he must spread his entire hand. Dummy becomes declarer.



The QBA disclaims warranties of reasonableness and accuracy, and all warranties with regard to the information on this site, including all implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for particular purpose. In no event shall the QBA be liable for any direct, indirect, incidental, special or consequential damages arising out of the use of this site.