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2017 QBA CLUB DIRECTOR EXAM 

PAPER 2 – LAWS AND REGULATIONS 
 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 

 Please write in black or blue pen. 

 Answer all questions on the exam paper. If space is insufficient either add pages 
at the end or write on the back of the previous page.  

 The use of "you" throughout this paper means you as the director. 

 When asked for your ruling, include everything you would do and say at the table 
as part of your ruling and add anything else necessary to show that you 
understand the law(s) applicable.  

 All answers require a Law Reference Number.  

 Time allowed is flexible but 3 hours should be sufficient.  

 You may refer to the 2017 Law Book, the QBA Regulations and one other piece 
of reference material of your choice. 

   Using prepared answers, answers to old exam papers and electronic   
      equipment (phone, ipad, computer etc) is not permitted. 

 
 
QUESTION ONE 

(a) A board is passed in the first time it is played in a duplicate session. May it be 
redealt?       
 

                             ……..…………                               What Law applies? ……………………..…  
 
(b) When should the director be called when attention is drawn to an irregularity?  
 

……………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ………………………..… 

 
(c) When does the auction start? 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

……………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 
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(d) When written bidding is being used, when should the bidding slip be concealed 
from view? 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………  
 

………………………….……… Upon which law is this regulation based? ……………………..… 

  
(e) May an inadmissible double be accepted by the player next in rotation? 
 

                                  ……..…………                           What Law applies? ……………………..…  
 
(f) Within what time may a player appeal a ruling made by you at his table?  
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

……………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..….. 

 
(g) Declarer has detached a card from his hand but has not faced it on the table 
immediately before him. When is that card deemed to have been played? 
 
………………………………………………………………………………………………………..…………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. 
 
………………………………………………………………………………………………………..…………… 
 
………………………………………………………………………………………………………..…………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. 
 

……………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 
   
(h) During the auction, a player drops the ♥Q onto the table face up. What is your 
ruling at this time as to how the auction continues?    
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. 
 
………………………………………………………………………………………………………..…………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. 
 
………………………………………………………………………………………………………..…………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. 
 

……………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 
 
(i) Only one defender has a major penalty card. When must that major penalty card 
be played? 
 
………………………………………………………………………………………………………..…………… 
 

……………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 
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(j) A claim has been made. Which side may request that play continues?  
 

……………………………………………………………..……… What Law applies?  .……………. 

 
(k) A request has been made for play to continue after a claim. What is necessary for 
play to continue without calling the director? 
 
………………………………………………………………………………………………………..…………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. 
 

………………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 
  
(l) Do the following bids require an alert? 

     (i) 3S in the auction 1S (X) 3S to show 3+ spades and 6-9 distributional points 
 
                                                                                                                      …………….. 
 

    (ii) 3C asking for a 4 card major in the auction 2NT (Pass) 3C                ………….…. 

   (iii) An opening bid of 3NT showing a 7+ minor suit headed by the AKQ with no 
         outside aces or kings. 
                                                                                                                                             ……….…….  
 
What QBA Regulation applies? (i) ………….……… (ii) …….…………… (iii) ………..………… 
 
(m) How do you classify an opening bid of 2C that may be a 17+ hand with diamonds 
OR 19-21 point balanced hand OR a weak hand with either 6+ clubs or 6+ 
diamonds? 
 
…………………………………………………………………………….………………………….…………… 
 

                                                 What QBA Regulation applies? …………………………..… 
 
(m) How would you classify a system which has an agreement to open 1C holding 
any hand with 10-19 points without a 5 card major? 
  
……………………………….………… What QBA Regulation applies? ……………..…….....…… 

 

QUESTION TWO 

East has been required to withdraw a bid of 2S during the auction. 2S showed        
5+ hearts and 5+ clubs. During the legal auction, East has been able to show a heart 
suit. South is to be the declarer.  

What lead restrictions to you offer to South on the opening lead? 

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? ………………………………………………………………...……………………… 
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QUESTION THREE 

West opens an auction with 1NT and then calls you to say he has made a mistake. 
You take him away from the table where he explains that he realised immediately 
that he had 5 spades and that his bid should have been 1S.  

Do you allow West to change his bid to 1S? Give the reason for your answer. 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? ………………………………………………………………...……………………… 

 

QUESTION FOUR 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

1   5+ spades 
2   Pre-emptive 6-9 points 4+ spades 
   with a singleton or void. 
3   Roman Keycard Blackwood 
4   2 Keycards but not the Q 
H   Agreed that West thought for an 
    unusually long time before bidding 5S. 

 
6S makes 12 tricks. 
NS call you when the play is finished believing that East did not have a hand to justify 
bidding on after West’s delay in bidding 5S.  

What is your ruling? Give your reasons. (Usually you would consult with other 
directors and poll some players however as that is not possible in an exam situation 
give your own opinion.)   
 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? ………………………………………………………………...……………………… 

Dlr:  W 
Vul: All 

 74 

 3 

 KQ9 

 AKQ9754 

 

 AQ1032 

 AKJ94 

 7 

 102                                                                                                                

  KJ986 

 10762 

 A1042 

 - 

  5 

 Q85 

 J8653 

 J863 

 

NORTH EAST SOUTH WEST 

   1S1 

2C 4S2 Pass 4NT3 

Pass 5H4 Pass 5SH 

Pass 6S All Pass 
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QUESTION FIVE 

North is the presumed declarer in a contract 4H. West faces the ♠4 as the opening 
lead. What is your ruling? 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? ………………………………………………………………...……………………… 

 

QUESTION SIX 

South is dealer, however North tries to open the auction by bidding 1S which is 
not accepted by East. South opens 1H, West passes and North bids 1S 
showing 4+ spades and 6+ points. 

What is your ruling? 

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? ………………………………………………………………...……………………… 
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QUESTION SEVEN 

 
West plays in 3NT making 9 tricks. 
 
North led ♠6 to the ♠3 ♠Q ♠A 
♦3 led to ♦K - North plays the ♦9 
♦Q led - North plays ♥2 
♦4 led to ♦J - North plays ♥5 
♦6 led - North wins with the ♦A 
 

Declarer calls you about North’s 
revokes.  

What is your ruling? 

 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? ………………………………………………………………...……………………… 

 

QUESTION EIGHT 

The contract is 4H by North. A diamond is led to trick 3 and West wins the trick by 
ruffing. West leads a spade to trick 4 and then calls you to say he is missing a card.  
His missing ♦7 is on the floor under the table where the board had been most 
recently played.  

What is your ruling? 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? ………………………………………………………………...……………………… 

Dlr:  W 
Vul: All 

♠ 1062 
♥ J10752 
♦ A9 
♣ Q95 

 

♠ AKJ 
♥ AK4 
♦ J653 
♣ A32 

 ♠ 98753 
♥ 86 
♦ KQ1084 
♣ 7 

 ♠ Q4 
♥ Q93 
♦ 72 
♣ KJ10864 
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QUESTION NINE 

North as Declarer leads the ♠6 towards the dummy’s ♠QJ854. East rises with the ♠A. 
East leads the ♣K to the next trick without waiting for West to play to the spade trick.  

What is your ruling?  
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? ………………………………………………………………...……………………… 

 

QUESTION TEN 

East is a defender. He accidentally faces two cards on the table when leading to a 
trick. Both the ♠2 and the ♦10 are visible. 

What is your ruling? 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? ………………………………………………………………...……………………… 
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QUESTION ELEVEN 

NORTH EAST SOUTH WEST 

2S 2D   

 
South does not accept the 2D bid. Away from the table you learn that 2D was an 
attempted Multi Two opening bid to show either a Weak Two in either major or a    
19-21 balanced hand. Are the following replacement calls comparable? 

2NT showing 15-17 balanced with a spade stopper.                                   ..……………. 

3H showing 12+ with 5+ hearts.                                                                   ……..………. 

Double for takeout showing an opening hand most likely                             
short in spades or a 16+ hand.                                                                    ..……………. 
 

                                                   What Law(s) apply? …………………………………………… 

 

QUESTION TWELVE 

 
NORTH EAST SOUTH WEST 

  1NT 2C1 

Pass 4H X 5C 
Pass Pass Pass  

 
1 Alerted. Described as both majors which 
is the agreement. 

5C makes 10 tricks.  

South calls you to say she doesn’t think 
West should have bid 5C.  

What is your ruling? Give your reasons. 

 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

What Law(s) apply? ………………………………………………………………...……………………… 

 

Dlr:  S 
Vul: NS 

♠ 72 
♥ 753 
♦ Q107653 
♣ 62 

 

♠ AK93 
♥ - 
♦ 98 
♣ K1098743 

 ♠ QJ86 
♥ J109862 
♦ AK2 
♣ - 

 ♠ 1054 
♥ AKQ4 
♦ J4 
♣ AQJ5 

 


