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2019 QBA CLUB DIRECTOR EXAM 

PAPER 2 – LAWS AND REGULATIONS 
 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 

 Please write in black or blue pen. 

 Answer all questions on the exam paper. If space is insufficient either add pages 
at the end or write on the back of the previous page.  

 The use of "you" throughout this paper means you as the director. 

 When asked for your ruling, include everything you would do and say at the 
table as part of your ruling and add anything else necessary to show that you 
understand the law(s) applicable.  

 All answers require a Law Reference Number.  

 Time allowed is flexible but 3 hours should be sufficient.  

 You may refer to the 2017 Law Book, the QBA Regulations and one other piece of 
reference material of your choice. 

   Using prepared answers, answers to old exam papers and electronic  
      equipment (phone, ipad, computer etc) is not permitted. 

 
 
 
 
QUESTION ONE 

(a) Unless changed by regulation, how long does a contestant have to request a ruling 
or appeal a ruling? 
 
………………………………………………………………………………………………………..…………… 
 

……..………………………………………………………  What Law applies? ……………………..… 

  
(b) An auction reached 3H after which there were three passes in rotation. When 
does the auction period end? 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

……………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 
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(c) A defender revokes on trick 12. The revoke is noticed when the players complete 
trick 13. What happens?   
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………  
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

……………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..….. 

 
(d) Why is the bidding slip covered when third hand has played to the first trick? 
(Alternatively, for those using bidding boxes, why are the bidding cards picked up when 
the opening lead is faced?)  
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………  
 

……………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..….. 

  
(e) When may a defender tell his partner that he (the partner) has a quitted trick pointed 
the wrong way? 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………  
 

……………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..….. 

 
(f) What is the purpose of score adjustment?  

 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

……………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 

 
(g) Declarer faces his hand and claims the last five tricks of his contract. A defender 
says, “Play it out.”  Dummy says, “No, I don’t agree to playing it out.” What happens 
now? 
 
………………………………………………………………………………………………………..…………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. 
 

……………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 
   
(h) How does a card become a minor penalty card? 
 
………………………………………………………………………………………………………..…………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. 
 

……………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 
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(i) A defender has the ♦K and the ♦5 as major penalty cards. When declarer leads the 
♦A, who decides which card is played to this trick by that offender?  
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. 
 

……………………………………………………………..……… What Law applies?  .………………. 

 

(j) The board to be played has been placed on a table. South’s hand had been returned 
to the board face up at the previous table and the ♥Q is visible to everyone. What is 
your ruling?    
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. 
 
………………………………………………………………………………………………………..…………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. 
 
………………………………………………………………………………………………………..…………… 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. 
 

……………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 
 
(k) Do the following bids require an alert? 

     (i) 1H in the auction 1H (Pass) 3H to show heart support with 6-9 points  
          including distribution i.e. pre-emptive not invitational.                        …………….. 
 

    (ii) 3C in the auction 2NT (Pass) 3C asking about a 4 card major.                        
                                                                                                                       ………….…. 

   (iii) An opening bid of 3NT to show a long solid minor  
                            with no outside aces or kings.                                            …….….…….  

 

  What QBA Regulation applies? (i) ………….……… (ii) …….…………… (iii) ………..………… 
 
(l) A pair has an agreement to open 4441 hands (4 spades, 4 hearts, 4 diamonds and 
a singleton club) with 1C. Does this form part of a Green System?  
 
………………….……………..………..  What QBA Regulation applies? …………………………..… 
 
QUESTION TWO 

South is declarer in a contract of 4S.  
At trick 8, South discovers that she is missing a card.  
The ♦4 is found face down under her chair.  
Declarer had won trick 5 by ruffing the diamond lead and diamonds had not been led 
again. Declarer made 11 tricks. What is your ruling? 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
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……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

………………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 
 
 

QUESTION THREE 

 
 
 
 
North bids 1S when South is dealer. 1S shows 5+ spades and 10-19 hcp. 
East does not accept North’s bid out of rotation so 1S is cancelled. 
At his proper turn North responds 1S which shows 4+ spades and 6+ points and is 
forcing for one round. What is your ruling? 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

………………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 

QUESTION THREE 

North leads the ♠4 against West’s contract of 3NT. When the dummy is displayed, 
West notices that there is a ♠4 in the dummy as well. North is still holding his cards 
from the previous board. What is your ruling?     
 
.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

………………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 

 

 

 

 

 

NORTH EAST SOUTH WEST 

1S  1H Pass 

1S    
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QUESTION FIVE 

South is declarer in a contract of 3NT. 
He wins the first trick and leads the ♥7 from his hand towards ♥QJ642 in dummy.    
East plays the ♥A (a singleton) before West has played a card.  
Declarer has not called for a card from dummy. Declarer was waiting for West to play.  
What is your ruling? 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

………………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 

 

QUESTION SIX 

 

 

A natural bidding system is being played by both pairs. What is your ruling? 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

………………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 

 

 

NORTH EAST SOUTH WEST 

1H 2S 2H  
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QUESTION SEVEN 

 
 
 
 
 
West withdraws a natural bid of 2S as rectification for a bid out of rotation.  
West passes at his legal turn. What lead restrictions do you offer declarer for East’s 
opening lead? 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

………………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 

 

QUESTION SIX 

 

 

 

South had announced to the table that he was trying to open the auction.  

Without waiting for you to arrive at the table, South doubled.  

An opening bid of 2C in the NS system shows 20+ hcp excluding balanced hands with 
20-21 hcp.  A double of 2S shows an opening hand 12+hcp most likely short in spades 
or South could hold a 16+ hand that he will show at his next turn.  

What is your ruling? 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

………………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 

 

 

 

NORTH EAST SOUTH WEST 

   2S 

1NT Pass 3NT Pass 

Pass Pass   

NORTH EAST SOUTH WEST 

 2S 2C  X  
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QUESTION NINE 

 
 
 
East is declarer in 4S and has won 
seven of the first nine tricks including 
trick 9 which he won in his own hand. 
 
East now shows his hand and claims by 
saying, “The rest are mine.” 
 
NS call you. What is your ruling? 

 
 
 

 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

………………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 

QUESTION TEN 

Declarer leads a heart to trick 5. While trying to discard, next defender accidentally 
pulls out the ♦4 and the ♥4 and places both cards on the table face up and visible. 
What is your ruling? 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

.……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

………………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 ♠  - 
♥ 72 
♦  J 
♣ 4 

 

♠   - 
♥  J9 
♦  52 
♣  - 

 ♠ 97 
♥ 6 
♦ 7 
♣  - 

 ♠  8 
♥  - 
♦  4 
♣ 98 
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QUESTION ELEVEN 

About half way through an auction you are called because North is holding 14 cards 
while South has only 12. What is your ruling?  
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

………………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 

 

QUESTION TWELVE 

 

 
 
 
 
After South’s pass, West sits for a while before circling 2NT and saying, “Alert.” 
South calls you to say that he had no idea 2NT wasn’t showing a big balanced hand. 
2NT is artificial showing both minors and 8-11 hcp. South tells you, away from the 
table, that he would have doubled 2NT (had he known it was weak with both minors) 
to show interest in penalties depending on what West bids. What is your ruling? 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… 
 

………………………………………………………………… What Law applies? ……………………..… 

NORTH EAST SOUTH WEST 

 2NT Pass  


