Reg Busch

Reg Busch was President of the QBA for 1973-1979 and 1983-1986. Together with Hugh (Bing) Brown and others, he worked towards supporting players and clubs all over Queensland by introducing a system of subsidies designed to bring country players to Brisbane for state events. The Queensland Zonal structure can be largely attributed to his efforts. He became a life member of the Association in 1986.

After a period as a country doctor in south-east Queensland, he moved to Brisbane in 1971, and rapidly became involved in administrative roles for the QBA, He was the State Masterpoint Secretary from 1973 to 1974, National Masterpoint Secretary 1977-1979, QBA Treasurer 1981-1982, ABF councillor 1975-1979 and 1983-1987 and QBA Tournament chair for 14 years. Despite this formidable administrative load, he was an accomplished player illustrated by the fact that he qualified for the Queensland Open Team for the Australian Interstate Championships on three occasions with three different partners, Nat Corrigan, Malcolm Carter and Richard Ward.

Reg became a nationally-recognised tournament director whose knowledge of movements, scoring, regulations and the Laws was unsurpassed. He was Queensland’s only Level 1 National Director and was the Chief Director at the Gold Coast Congress for a few years. He was instrumental in the training of many of the state’s current crop of directors and introduced a demanding testing regime for club and congress directors. He was the foundation editor of the Australian Bridge Directors Association Bulletin throughout the 1990’s.

He and Joan McPheat were a formidable directing duo for more than two decades. Together they developed, tested and promoted one of the first computerised scoring software programs in Australia. Their ground-breaking pioneering efforts developed into “Compscore” which is widely-used by many Queensland clubs today.

National Titles

1988 Australian Open Interstate Teams 1st – [NPC with Bill Hunt, Jim Wallis, Paul Lavings, Brian Blyth, Kevin Hume, Richard Ward]

State Representation

Australian National Championships – Queensland Open Team 1990 (NPC), 1988 (NPC), 1981 (NPC), 1978, 1976 (NPC), 1975, 1973